Updated January 2025
Your marketing budget needs to deliver results—fast.
SEO takes months to kick in, but Google Search Ads drive qualified traffic to your website from the search bar immediately.
Everything you need to start raking in dollars is right here. We’ll cover the fundamentals of Google Search Ads:
- How to set up a campaign so the results put a smile on your face
- How much they cost (real-time day-by-day cost)
- Why you should use them
TL;DR
Google Search Ads are pay-per-click ads based on keywords. They work because they capture intent right at the search bar as the target audience types in a query that matches the keyword you bid on.
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Want to do better with Google Ads?
You got it.
We’ll show you how to set up your account and structure your search campaigns the best way. By the end, you’ll know how to target the right keyword match types, maximize character count, set up conversion tracking, and update ads on the best schedule. You’ll kill common mistakes like poor keyword research, bad ad copy, insufficient budget, inadequate targeting and tracking, and not using ad extensions. You’ll pay attention to the right measurement metrics and level up with free training and certifications.
In under 20 minutes, you’ll know how to turn things around by stopping the bleeding (wasted spend) and confidently use Google Ads to make your pipeline happy.
Let’s do this 🤘
- TL;DR
- What are Google Search Ads?
- Why you should use paid search
- How do Google Search Ads work?
- How much do Google Search Ads cost?
- How to create a Google Ads account
- How to create a search campaign
- Best practices for Search Ads
- Common mistakes to avoid with Search Ads
- Measuring Google Ads performance
- Google Ads certification and training
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What are Google Search Ads?
Search Ads are keyword-driven digital ads. Ads appear on the search engine results page (SERP) based on what search term a user types into the search bar (the query).
These ads appear across Google's Search Network at the top or bottom of the page or next to search results in these places:
- Google Search
- Google Play
- Google Maps
- Shopping tab
- Search partners across thousands of other websites
Choose from several paid search options:
- Text ads
- Responsive search ads
- Call-only ads
- Dynamic search ads.
The Search Network also supports Shopping ads for e-commerce retailers, which we'll cover separately.
Why you should use paid search
Immediate results. That’s why.
With paid search, you show up in front of a targeted audience actively searching for you. You control how much you want to spend to capture that high-intent demand. And the results spread into the offline world, too.
Capture search intent
Search Ads work so well because they reflect the intent of the user. They attract people who are searching for what you sell. You get excited about this and leverage that interest to capture demand.
Depending on the user's intent and funnel stage, these ads could get expensive. But you are fully in control to keep your costs in check with a smart strategy (see budget options below).
Get online or offline results
You might be thinking: Website clicks sound great, but I need a “bigger picture” strategy.
We hear you.
The great thing about paid search is that it goes multi-whammy—clicks are only one objective. Paid Search Ads feed into that bigger picture: website visits, lead gen, sales, phone calls, and even in-person visits.
The campaign runs online, but the reach of this effort spreads into offline channels.
Target your ideal audience
Traditional advertising goes after as many people as possible. But that results in wasted ad spend.
Search Ads go narrow.
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Use keywords or target potential customers based on
- Demographics
- Interests
- Purchase intent
- Website signals
- Remarketing data
Budget flexibility
With search, you don't have to spend thousands or even hundreds of dollars per month. Start small and scale up when you see the results you want.
Set daily budgets to get high-level control over how much you spend. If you want to increase, decrease, or pause your ad spend, that takes seconds.
How do Google Search Ads work?
Google Ads is a pay-per-click (PPC) platform: you pay when users interact with your ads.
Here's how it works in five simple steps:
- Create an ad that targets a keyword
- Place a bid ($$$) so Google knows how much you're willing to pay to show your ad when someone searches for that keyword
- Every advertiser who bids on that keyword (including you) enters into an ad auction
If your quality score, Ad Rank, and budget beat your competitors (i.e., who has the most relevant ad, landing page, and performance), Google will show your ad either above or below organic search results.
How much do Google Search Ads cost?
Google uses an auction system for search ads, so there's no standard price for a campaign.
Think this sucks? We’ve got you.
To estimate costs for your search campaign and find the average cost per click (CPC) for your keywords, use KlientBoost’s always-fresh Google ad cost data from hundreds of millions of spend.
Factors like bid caps and your ads' quality score affect whether you win the auction. The cost depends on factors like how competitive the keyword is and the conversion you want to achieve.
For smaller advertisers with typical needs, the Google Ads platform is free to set up. Agencies and big businesses may need a paid enterprise-level solution like Search Ads 360, which has a customized monthly cost.
How to create a Google Ads account
Get started in 6 steps.
- Go to the Google Ads website and click on the Start now button
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2. Sign in or create an account: Enter your email address and password to sign in or create a new Google account
3. Enter your business details: Fill out your business name, address, and phone number
4. Set up account preferences: Select your time zone, currency, and language
5. Agree to Terms and Conditions: Check.
6. Verify your account: Google will send a verification code to your email address. Enter this code to verify your account.
WAHOO!
Your account is set up.
Now, let's set up your first search campaign, ad groups, ads, and targets.
How to create a search campaign
Open your Google Ads account and follow the steps below.
1. Set up a search campaign
Click the blue plus icon to create a new Google Ads campaign.
Then choose a campaign objective (your goal): Sales, Leads, Web traffic...
Select Search for the campaign type. Search Ads are compatible with Sales, Leads, and Website Traffic objectives.
2. Choose campaign settings
Decide on a daily budget and choose a bidding strategy.
Start with one of Google’s recommended smart bidding strategies, such as Conversions or automated bidding. Once you gather data, you can optimize your spend by setting a target cost per action (CPA) or switching to a manual bidding strategy.
Select targeting options, including locations, audiences, and languages. To create a search-only campaign, opt out of the Display Network. Otherwise, your ads will default to appearing across Google ad networks, which isn’t always an optimal use of your ad budget.
3. Create ad groups
At the ad group level, add the keywords you want to target. Use separate sets of keywords for each ad group to make your campaigns more efficient and your targeting more relevant.
4. Build Search Ads
You can include multiple versions of most search ad elements
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Create an ad by inputting the main elements:
- Headline
- Description
- Display path for the landing page
When writing your ad copy, ensure all of your variations make sense together and independently because Google Ads may combine multiple headlines and descriptions when serving your ad.
Then, configure ad extensions (like callouts) to improve performance.
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Finally, review and launch your campaign.
Google's ad review process can take a few days, so schedule in advance if possible. Once your campaign starts running, you can track metrics in your Google Ads dashboard.
Best practices for Search Ads
Creating a search ad seems simple, but optimizing campaigns gets complicated quickly. Use these best practices for a successful campaign.
Target the right keyword match types
Every keyword has a “match type” and using the wrong one means losing out on potential results. Pick from three Google search keyword match types:
- Broad match
- Phrase match
- Exact match
Don’t forget to add negative keywords so you don’t target irrelevant search terms.
When you’re ready to go to the next level, dive into search targeting and narrow in on your ideal audience to optimize your ad spend.
Maximize the character count
There are strict character limits for each element. Max those limits —up to 30 for each headline and up to 90 for each description.
Create many versions of each element. Google Ads tests different combinations and serves the winning options more often.
Set up conversion tracking
To drive sales, calls, leads, or website visits, monitor what happens after a user interacts with your ad. Set up Google Ads conversion tracking before launching a campaign to accurately gauge and optimize results.
Update Search Ads periodically
Search campaigns see the best results when they’re monitored over weeks, months, or even longer. Changing ads, ad groups, or campaigns more than once a week might prevent Google Ads from delivering efficiently. Instead, review and update your campaigns every couple of weeks, especially if you notice a dramatic change in cost or conversions.
Common mistakes to avoid with Search Ads
Search Ads drive traffic and conversions, but common mistakes get in the way of that success.
Not everyone has the luxury of working with a Google ads agency.
If you’re running ads yourself, DON’T DO THESE THINGS to get the most out of your ad spend:
Poor keyword research:
If you spend money on the wrong keywords, you'll attract the wrong people. Take some time to identify relevant and high-performing keywords for your campaign. Use tools like Google Keyword Planner, built right into the Google Ads platform.
Crappy ad copy:
Copywriting isn't a talent everyone has. Does your headline grab attention? Is your description clear (bare minimum)? Is it persuasive?
Screw this up, and dollars float away.
Get help here if you need it—most do.
Insufficient budget:
How much budget do you need to start with Google Search Ads?
Nothing massive.
Start your Google Search Ads experience with as little as $10-20 per day to test the water and scale up based on performance. The key is understanding your target cost per acquisition and setting realistic expectations for your industry.
Set a realistic budget that aligns with your campaign goals and target audience. Spending $50 won’t land you hundreds of leads. But you don't want to burn through your quarterly budget in a week, either.
Monitor your ad spend regularly to avoid overspending.
Inadequate targeting:
Make sure to target the right audience by selecting appropriate location, language, and device targeting options. As you gather more data, refine your targeting to reach more potential customers.
No ad extensions:
Use ad extensions to provide additional information and improve ad visibility.
Inadequate tracking and measurement:
Set up conversion tracking and measure campaign performance regularly. Use Google Ads’ reporting tools to optimize and improve your results.
Steer clear of these mistakes to maximize your return on investment.
Measuring Google Ads performance
Google gives you reporting tools to measure how well your search campaigns are doing.
Measure KPIs like
- Return on ad spend (ROAS): How much revenue you earn for every dollar you spend
- Cost per click (CPC): How much you pay for every click on your ad
- Cost per conversion: How much it costs to complete a conversion goal you set inside Google Ads, like a website submission or purchase.
- Cost per impressions (CPM): How much it costs for every 1,000 times your ad shows.
- Cost per acquisition (CPA): How much it costs to win a customer through Google Ads. For example, if you spend $10.00 to get 10 customers, your CPA is $1.
Best of all:
For B2B brands, use offline conversion tracking to sync your Google Ads with your CRM to automatically track how many visitors become customers.
That’s how you measure the impact your Google Ads have on revenue, so you bid on keywords you know drive sales (not just clicks).
When offline conversion tracking is set up, you can also track:
- Cost per MQL (marketing qualified lead)
- Cost per opportunity
- Cost per closed/won
Google Ads certification and training
Develop your skills and knowledge so you do wildly impressive things with Google Ads.
Certification benefits:
- Show off your expertise: Potential clients or employers will know have the skills to manage Google Ads campaigns to a level they’ll feel in their wallets
- Improve campaign performance: Knowledge is power. Apply strategies that improve campaign performance and maximize return on investment.
- Stay up-to-date with industry trends: Obvious. Keep on top of changes and new Google Ads features and trends to stay ahead of the competition.
- More career opportunities: Google Ads certification opens up new career opportunities which bumps your salary a few notches.
Learn more about Google Ads Certification, which covers search campaigns, display ads, and video ads.
Also… Good news!
We wrote 11 chapters specifically on Google Search Ads, complete with over 50 deep-dive articles. To deepen your knowledge, keep reading here: The Ultimate Guide To Google Ads Mastery.
NOT FINISHED.
We also created our own course in the KlientBoost Academy to take you from zero to Vin Diesel riding shotgun with Bruce Lee blindfolded while driving real business outcomes.
We call it the KlientBoost Google Search Ads Course. From basics to advanced, we teach you how to maximize your Search Ads results.
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Using our frameworks, we've seen accounts get a 4:1 return. Go big or go home. Here's to watching your Google Search Ads skyrocket. 🚀